124   Leave a comment

A year ago, when I finished organising the third ever 100+ control event in Israel, I said that the time has come to participate in one, so someone else has to do the job.

Daniel Raz-Rotschild and Yochai Sheffi took it on themselves, and provided us with a 124 control event in Ben-Shemen forest. It wasn’t the most suitable terrain in my opinion, it was cold, the forest was soaking wet, and it was worth it – almost 3 hours of pure concentration and fun. Now I know what the other orienteers felt like when I sent them out on these courses!

Physically I didn’t have any problems (the course was 13.8 km), but the orienteering was something else. I can’t read a 1:10,000 map clearly while running, so in many cases I trusted my instincts instead of stopping to read the map (or the tiny control descriptions) with a magnifier, and usually it worked. I wanted to finish under 2.5 hours, but after losing 12 minutes to control 35 I gave up on that and my final time was 2:49:52.

20170128_benshemen_route

Control 35 was a mess, and it took me 6-7 controls afterwards to recover my flow. I couldn’t distinguish between any of the green stuff on the map, attacked it three times, and found it while wandering around after the third time. According to the GPS it was located correctly, so I have no complaints and should probably have walked in properly by compass and pacing from the path junction after a couple of minutes.

20170128_35

Thanks guys, and thanks to all your club members who helped out. Your record won’t stand for long – I’ll get bored and set up 150 controls within a few years…

Posted 31/01/2017 by dchissick in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

