The Book   1 comment

For the past five years, I’ve been writing a book. I’ve also kept it secret, so I managed to surprise everybody at the General Assembly of the ISOA (Israel Sport Orienteering Association).

The book is my orienteering autobiography, and I called it “ניתוח ציר – סיפורו של נווט”, which translates as “Route Choice – an Orienteer’s Story”. Obviously it’s in Hebrew, with no translation available (the cover is below), and it includes 317 pages, 229 pictures/maps (in retrospect, I should have added more), and about 118,000 words.

The main reason I wrote a book that I had less time for outside pursuits because of the children, so I found a way to use my “armchair” time. I also felt that a lot of our orienteering history is going missing, with few options to expose newer orienteers to it, and this is my contribution. I’ve been heavily involved in Israeli orienteering for almost 30 years, in almost all areas (competing, national teams, mapping, clubs, instructing, planning, management, etc.), so the book covers a lot.

I’ve printed 200 copies (at my own expense) for now, and they are being sold at a reasonable price (50 NIS, about 12€) and going well. I hope both newer and more experienced orienteers find it interesting.

I intend to publish some of the charts from the book later on, translated to English, and they summarize parts of my career.

Book cover

Posted 05/07/2019 by dchissick in Uncategorized

Tagged with

One response to “The Book

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: 30 Years of Orienteering | Dan Chissick's Orienteering Blog

Leave a comment